10CC – The Original Soundtrack

10CC – The Original Soundtrack

AMG review: 10cc’s third album, The Original Soundtrack, finally scored them a major hit in the United States, and rightly so; “I’m Not in Love” walked a fine line between self-pity and self-parody with its weepy tale of a boy who isn’t in love (really!), and the marvelously lush production and breathy vocals allowed the tune to work beautifully either as a sly joke or at face value. The album’s opener, “Une Nuit a Paris,” was nearly as marvelous; a sly and often hilarious extended parody of both cinematic stereotypes of life and love in France and overblown European pop. And side one’s closer, “Blackmail,” was a witty tale of sex and extortion gone wrong, with a superb guitar solo embroidering the ride-out. That’s all on side one; side two, however, is a bit spottier, with two undistinguished tunes, “Brand New Day” and “Flying Junk,” nearly dragging the proceedings to a halt before the band rallied the troops for a happy ending with the hilarious “The Film of Our Love.” The Original Soundtrack’s best moments rank with the finest work 10cc ever released; however, at the same time it also displayed what was to become their Achilles’ heel — the inability to make an entire album as strong and memorable as those moments. –by Mark Deming


10CC – The Original Soundtrack Tracklist

  1. Une Nuit a Paris: One Night in Paris, Pt. 1/The Same Night in Paris, Pt. – 2 08:42
  2. I’m Not in Love  – 06:07
  3. Blackmail  – 04:30
  4. The Second Sitting For the Last Supper – 04:27
  5. Brand New Day – 04:05
  6. Flying Junk – 04:15
  7. Life Is a Minestrone  – 04:44
  8. The Film of My Love  – 05:06

10CC - The Original Soundtrack10CC

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.