Alt j – An Awesome Wave

      An Awesome Wave is the debut studio album by English indie rock band alt-J (∆), released on 25 May 2012 by Infectious Records. The album includes the singles “Matilda”/”Fitzpleasure”, “Breezeblocks” and “Tessellate”. It peaked at number thirteen on the UK Albums Chart, and also charted in Belgium, France, Netherlands and Switzerland. An Awesome Wave won the 2012 British Barclaycard Mercury Prize, and in 2013 was named Album of the Year at the Ivor Novello Awards. Musically, the album is phenomenal. The group draws from a wide range of influences. Most interestingly, there is a definite electronic influence: the ambient noises and audible textures that are produced electronically for some groups are created acoustically by Alt-J’s fantastic percussionist. Balanced with a broad range of acoustic and electronic instruments, the album’s music shows a great range by the band’s members.

      An Awesome Wave received positive reviews from most music critics. At Metacritic, the album received an average score of 71, based on 20 reviews, which indicates “generally favorable reviews”. Jen Long of BBC Music gave the album a positive review stating, “This album spans every workable idea, genre, and influence that can be crammed under the guitar music umbrella, yet it never feels disorientating. Instead, what swoons gracefully through speakers is an entirely comprehendible and accessible collection of beautiful pop songs.”


Alt j – An Awesome Wave Tracklist

  1. 2:37 – Interlude 1
  2. 3:49 – Tessellate
  3. 6:51 – Breezeblocks
  4. 10:40 – Interlude 2
  5. 11:56 – Something Good
  6. 15:34 – Dissolve Me
  7. 19:33 – Matilda
  8. 23:22 – Ms
  9. 27:21 – Fitzpleasure
  10. 31:00 – Interlude 3
  11. 31:53 – Bloodflood
  12. 36:02 – Taro
  13. 46:08 – Handmade (Secret Track)

Alt j - An Awesome Wave

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.