Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works 85-92

Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works 85-92

Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works 85-92 is an ambient techno album by Richard D. James under the pseudonym of Aphex Twin. This is his third release and debut studio album under this alias. It was released in 1992 on the Belgian techno label Apollo. An analogue remaster was released in 2006, and a digital remaster was released in 2008. Selected Ambient Works 85–92 is considered by many to be the threshold album in modern ambient music as well as one of the pioneering works in intelligent dance music and electronic dance music

Allmusic claims that while “the sound quality is relatively poor,” the album is “a watershed of ambient music.”David M. Pecoraro of Pitchfork Media calls it “among the most interesting music ever created with a keyboard and a computer.” Rolling Stone called the album “majestic,” and the Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll claims the album was received by critics as “an ambient masterpiece comparable to work by The Orb and Brian Eno.”Warp Records has billed this as “the birthplace and the benchmark of modern electronic music” and has stated that “every home should have a copy.” In 2003, the album was placed #92 in “NME’s 100 Best Albums” poll . The album was also featured in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

AMG Review: Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works 85-92 is a desperately sparse album: thin percussion and several haunted-synth lines are the only components on most songs, and Richard D. James added only one vocal sample on the entire album (“We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams”). Also, the sound quality is relatively poor; it was recorded direct to cassette tape and reportedly suffered a mangling job by a cat. All this belies the status of Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works 85-92 as a watershed of ambient music. It reveals no influences and sounds unlike anything that preceded it, due in large part to the effects James managed to wrangle from his supply of home-manufactured contraptions. –by John Bush



  1. 0:00 Xtal
  2. 4:53 Tha
  3. 14:01 Pulsewidth
  4. 17:49 Ageispolis
  5. 23:13 I
  6. 24:29 Green Calx
  7. 30:35 Heliosphan
  8. 35:29 We Are The Music Makers
  9. 43:13 Schottkey 7th Path
  10. 48:21 Ptolemy
  11. 55:35 Hedphelym
  12. 1:01:39 Delphium
  13. 1:07:09 Actium 

Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works 85-92

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.