Astrud Gilberto – Jazz ‘Round Midnight

Astrud Gilberto – Jazz ‘Round Midnight

AMG Review: More thematically-programmed than many of Verve’s compilations, the Jazz ‘Round Midnight series focuses on the quiet, romantic side of the label’s artists. Astrud Gilberto is a perfect match for this series. Her simultaneously childlike and alluring voice defines the quiet, romantic elements of the bossa nova style she popularized worldwide with the enormous success of Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “The Girl from Ipanema,” recorded with her then-husband Joao Gilberto and the Stan Getz Quartet in 1963.
After that classic, JAZZ ROUND MIDNIGHT focuses little on Gilberto’s trademark Brazilian sambas, instead favoring her unique interpretations of jazz standards. Gilberto’s bossa nova versions of “Fly Me To the Moon,” “The Shadow Of Your Smile,” and “Here’s That Rainy Day” epitomize romantic languor. “I feel so gay in a melancholy way” goes the key line of the standard “It Might As Well Be Spring,” and no sentiments could better encapsulate Astrud Gilberto’s gift.


Astrud Gilberto – Jazz ‘Round Midnight Tracklist

  1. – Garota de Ipanema/The Girl From Ipanema
  2. – Fly Me To The Moon
  3. – Non-Stop To Brazil
  4. – Only Trust Your Heart
  5. – It Might As Well Be Spring
  6. – My Foolish Heart
  7. – Misty Roses
  8. – Tú Mi Delirio
  9. – Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars
  10. – Manhã De Carnaval
  11. – If You Went Away
  12. – Here’s That Rainy Day
  13. – I Will Wait For You
  14. – Who Can I Turn To When Nobody Needs Me
  15. – Astrud Gilberto – Once Upon A Summertime
  16. – Astrud Gilberto – The Shadow Of Your Smile

Astrud Gilberto - Jazz 'Round Midnight

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.