Band Of Horses – Everything All The Time

Band Of Horses – Everything All The Time

AMG review: Band of Horses is the phoenix ascending from the carcass of Carissa’s Wierd, Ben Bridwell and Matt Brooke’s former band. (But what happened to the proposed November 16th?) While the penchant for beautiful melody is present everywhere here, that’s pretty much where the similarity between both groups stops. Whereas their former project centered itself on slower-than-codeine-cough-syrup-on-a-cold-day, lushly textured sad-pop, Band of Horses is a full-on indie rock band that writes loud, raw, mid-tempo pop songs and really loves Neil Young. Gone are the slow, layered, weepy, singly tempoed songs of heartbreak and loss. No more violins, no more space, no more, no more. Bridwell’s vocals are stretched here (and they could be mistaken for Wayne Coyne’s or a young Young’s on first listen), but he and Brooke have a different m.o. on their new project. They play a plethora of instruments between them, from banjos to pedal steels and piano, and Chris Early pays bass along with an assortment of drummers that includes touring kit man Tim Meining (though Sera Cahoone (another ex-Clarissa’s) sits in the chair on about half this set)…. Nonetheless, Band Of Horses – Everything All The Time is a decent first effort that warrants repeated listening. by Thom Jurek


Band Of Horses – Everything All The Time Tracklist

  1. The First Song 0:00
  2. Wicked Gil 3:43
  3. Our Swords 6:41
  4. The Funeral 9:07
  5. Part One 14:29
  6. The Great Salt Lake 17:05
  7. Weed Party 21:51
  8. I Go To The Barn Because I Like The 25:00
  9. Monsters 28:07
  10. St. Augustine 33:29

Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.