Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady

      ‘Ned Raggett’: If Never Mind the Bollocks and London Calling are held up as punk masterpieces, then there’s no question that Singles Going Steady belongs alongside them. In fact, the slew of astonishing seven-inches collected on Steady and their influence on future musicians – punk or otherwise — sometimes even betters more famous efforts. The title and artwork alone (the latter itself partially inspired by the Beatles’ Let it Be) have been parodied or referred to by Halo of Flies and Don Caballero, which titled its own singles comp Singles Breaking Up. As for the music, anybody who ever combined full-blast rock, catchy melodies and romantic and social anxieties owes something to what the classic quartet did here. The deservedly well-known masterpiece “Ever Fallen in Love” appears along with Love Bites’ “Just Lust,” but the remaining tracks originally appeared only as individual A and B-sides, making this collection all the more essential….


Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady Tracklist

1. Orgasm Addict 00:00
2. What Do I Get? 02:03
3. I Don’t Mind 04:56
4. Love You More 07:15
5. Ever Fallen in Love? 09:05
6. Promises 11:46
7. Everybody’s Happy Nowadays 14:23
8. Harmony in My Head 17:38
9. You Say You Don’t Love Me 20:45
10. Are Everything 23:40
11. Strange Thing 27:40
12. Running Free 31:50
13. What Ever Happened to? 35:04
14. Oh Shit! 37:19
15. Autonomy 38:55
16. Noise Annoys 42:40
17. Just Lust 45:35
18. Lipstick 48:37
19. Why Can’t I Touch It? 51:15
20. Something’s Gone Wrong Again 57:50
21. Raison d’Être 1:02:28
22. Why She’s the Girl from Chainstore 1:06:02
23. Airwaves Dream 1:08:28
24. What Do You Know 1:12:20

Buzzcocks - Singles Going Steady

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.