Cannonball Adderley – Know What I Mean?

Cannonball Adderley – Know What I Mean?

AMG Review: What’s better than a Bill Evans Trio album? How about a Bill Evans trio album on which the bassist is Percy Heath, the drummer is Connie Kay, and the leader is not Evans but alto sax god Cannonball Adderley, making the group actually a quartet? It’s a different sort of ensemble, to be sure, and the musical results are marvelous. Adderley’s playing on “Waltz for Debby” is both muscular and sensitive, as it is on the other Evans composition here, a modal ballad called “Know What I Mean?” Other treats include the sprightly “Toy” and two takes of the Gershwin classic “Who Cares?” The focus here is, of course, on Adderley’s excellent post-bop stylings, but it’s also interesting to hear Evans playing with a rhythm section as staid and conservative as Kay and Heath (both charter members of the Modern Jazz Quartet). It’s hard to imagine any fan of mainstream jazz not finding much to love on this very fine recording. –by Rick Anderson



  1. “Waltz for Debby” (Bill Evans, Gene Lees) — 0:00
  2. “Goodbye” (Gordon Jenkins) — 5:08
  3. “Who Cares?” (Take 5) (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) — 11:28
  4. “Who Cares?” (Take 4) — 17:27
  5. “Venice” (John Lewis) — 23:19
  6. “Toy” (Clifford Jordan) — 26:15
  7. “Elsa” (Earl Zindars) — 31:24
  8. “Nancy (With the Laughing Face)” (Phil Silvers, Jimmy Van Heusen) — 37:16
  9. “Know What I Mean?” (Re-take 7) (Evans) — 41:25
  10. “Know What I Mean?” (Take 12) — 46:20

Julian “Cannonball” Adderley – Alto saxophone, leader
Bill Evans – Piano
Percy Heath – Bass
Connie Kay – Drums


Release: Date 1961
Duration: 45:59
Genre: Jazz
Styles: Hard Bop – Piano Jazz – Soul Jazz – Jazz Instrument – Saxophone Jazz

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.