Carl Orff – Carmina Burana (Ormandy)

Carl Orff – Carmina Burana (Ormandy)

Carl Orff – Carmina Burana is a scenic cantata composed by Carl Orff in 1935 and 1936. It is based on 24 of the poems found in the medieval collection Carmina Burana. Its full Latin title is Carmina Burana: Cantiones profanæ cantoribus et choris cantandæ comitantibus instrumentis atque imaginibus magicis (Songs of Beuern: Secular songs for singers and choruses to be sung together with instruments and magic images.) Carmina Burana is part of Trionfi, the musical triptych that also includes the cantata Catulli Carmina and Trionfo di Afrodite. The first and last movements are called “Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi” (Fortune, Empress of the World) and start with the very well known “O Fortuna”.

Longtime Philadelphia Orchestra conductor Eugene Ormandy (born Jenó Blau) developed what came to be known as the “Philadelphia Sound.” (He groused that it should be called the “Ormandy Sound,” even though its fundamentals had already been established during Leopold Stokowski’s long tenure with the Philadelphia Orchestra.) Largely as an effort to overcome the dry acoustics of the orchestra’s home, the Academy of Music, Ormandy emphasized lush string sonorities and, often, legato phrasing and rounded tone. He was lauded even by his own musicians for his ability to conduct everything from memory, even complex contemporary scores. Still, aside from the voluptuous tone, Ormandy’s interpretations rarely bore an individual stamp. They were, however, highly polished, intelligently balanced, and well paced, always serving the scores honorably, and often with a dash of controlled excitement.

Janice Harsanyi: soprano
Rudolf Petrak: tenor
Harve Presnell: bariton
The Rutgers University Choir
The Philadelphia OrchestraEugene Ormandy: conductor-1960


Carl Orff – Carmina Burana Tracklist

  1. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: O Fortuna 02:44
  2. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: Fortune plango vulnera 02:40
  3. Part 1: Veris leta facies 03:27
  4. Part 1: Omnia sol temperat 01:48
  5. Part 1: Ecce gratum 02:34
  6. Uf Dem Anger: Tanz 01:37
  7. Uf Dem Anger: Floret silva 03:16
  8. Uf Dem Anger: Chramer, gip die varwe mir 03:12
  9. Uf Dem Anger: Reie 01:51
  10. Uf Dem Anger: Swaz hie gat umbe 02:31
  11. Uf Dem Anger: Were diu werlt alle min 00:54
  12. Part 2: Estuans interius 02:12
  13. Part 2: Olum lacus colueram 03:32
  14. Part 2: Ego sum abbas 01:38
  15. Part 2: In taberna quando sumus 03:11
  16. Part 3: Amor volat undique 03:02
  17. Part 3: Dies, nox et omnia 02:12
  18. Part 3: Stetit puella 01:51
  19. Part 3: Circa mea pectora 02:09
  20. Part 3: Si puer cum puellula 01:01
  21. Part 3: Veni, veni, venias 01:03
  22. Part 3: In trutina 02:08
  23. Part 3: Tempus est iocundum 02:16
  24. Part 3: Dulcissime 00:39
  25. Blanziflor et Helena: Ave formosissima 01:48
  26. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: O Fortuna 02:40

Carl Orff - Carmina Burana

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.