Carpenters – Gold: Greatest Hits

Carpenters – Gold: Greatest Hits

AMG Review: Usually the name Gold: Greatest Hits means “avoid this album.” Many times small labels will buy the rights to some obscure songs by a big-name artist and then release it under that very title. But despite the name, this collection keeps the crap in the middle of the album, buried between the good stuff. In fact, this is a really good retrospective of this band. The dark and lonely ballads that Karen Carpenter sang take center stage, pushing brother Richard’s pop contributions to the background. Carpenters – Gold starts strong enough, featuring several of their biggest hits, including “Superstar,” “Rainy Days and Mondays,” “Goodbye to Love,” and “It’s Going to Take Some Time.” And the album ends with more big hits, such as “Top of the World,” “(They Long to Be) Close to You,” and “We’ve Only Just Begun”; even their Klaatu cover, “Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft,” makes it. But the middle is a danger zone of filler, featuring forgettable tracks like “Please Mr. Postman” and its ilk. But this collection has the requisite amount of good Carpenters songs to make it worthwhile, and anyone who does not have these songs on album should give this a listen. –by Bradley Torreano


Carpenters – Gold: Greatest Hits tracklist

01. Yesterday Once More
02. Superstar 3:58
03. Rainy Days and Mondays 7:47
04. Goodbye To Love 11:24
05. It’s Going To Take Some Time 15:22
06. I Won’t Last A Day Without You 18:23
07. For All We Know 22:17
08. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) 24:52
09. Touch Me When We’re Dancing 28:31
10. Please Mr. Postman 31:50
11. I Need To Be In Love 34:43
12. Solitaire 38:14
13. We’ve Only Just Begun 42:56
14. (They Long To Be) Close To You 46:00
15. This Masquerade 49:44
16. Ticket To Ride 54:36
17. Top Of The World 58:47
18. Only Yesterday 1:01:46
19. Sing 1:05:35
20. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft 1:08:57
21. Bonus Track: Hurting Each Other 1:16:09

Carpenters - Gold: Greatest Hits

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.