Deep Purple – Machine Head

Deep Purple – Machine Head 40th Anniversary Edition

Deep Purple – Machine Head is the sixth studio album released by the English hard rock band Deep Purple. It was recorded through December 1971 in Montreux, Switzerland, and released in March 1972. Deep Purple – Machine Head is often cited as a major influence in the early development of the heavy metal music genre. Commercially, it was Deep Purple’s most successful album, topping the charts in several countries following its release. The album reached number 1 in the United Kingdom and stayed in the top 40 for 20 weeks. It reached number 7 in the United States, remaining on the Billboard 200 for 118 weeks.

AMG review: Led Zeppelin’s fourth album, Black Sabbath’s Paranoid, and Deep Purple – Machine Head have stood the test of time as the Holy Trinity of English hard rock and heavy metal, serving as the fundamental blueprints followed by virtually every heavy rock & roll band since the early ’70s. And, though it is probably the least celebrated of the three, Machine Head contains the “mother of all guitar riffs” — and one of the first learned by every beginning guitarist — in “Smoke on the Water.” Inspired by real-life events in Montreux, Switzerland, where Deep Purple were recording the album when the Montreux Casino was burned to the ground during a Frank Zappa concert, neither the song, nor its timeless riff, should need any further description. However, Machine Head was anything but a one-trick pony, introducing the bona fide classic opener “Highway Star,” which epitomized all of Deep Purple’s intensity and versatility while featuring perhaps the greatest soloing duel ever between guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and organist Jon Lord. Also in top form was singer Ian Gillan, who crooned and exploded with amazing power and range throughout to establish himself once and for all as one of the finest voices of his generation, bar none. Yes, the plodding shuffle of “Maybe I’m a Leo” shows some signs of age, but punchy singles “Pictures of Home” and “Never Before” remain as vital as ever, displaying Purple at their melodic best. And finally, the spectacular “Space Truckin'” drove Machine Head home with yet another tremendous Blackmore riff, providing a fitting conclusion to one of the essential hard rock albums of all time. –by Eduardo Rivadavia

  •  Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
  • Ian Gillan – vocals, harmonica
  • Roger Glover – bass
  • Jon Lord – keyboards
  • Ian Paice – drums, percussion


Deep Purple – Machine Head Tracklist

  1. (00:00) Highway Star
  2. (06:07) Maybe I’m A Leo
  3. (10:58) Pictures Of Home
  4. (16:02) Never Before
  5. (20:00) Smoke On The Water
  6. (25:41) Lazy
  7. (33:04) Space Truckin’
  8. (37:37) When A Blind Man Cries

Deep Purple - Machine Head

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.