Elvis Presley – Elvis Presley First Album

Elvis Presley – Elvis Presley is Elvis Presley‘s debut album released in 1956 to unanimous acclaim one of the pionering albums in music, not only did it launch the career of The King of Rock, it rightfuly gave him that name by launching Rock and Roll to mainstream audiences and changing the course of music forever.

The Elvis Presley First Album was placed at number 56 on Rolling Stone Magazine’s list of The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time

AMG review: Today it all seems so easy — RCA signs up the kid from Memphis, television gets interested at around the same time, and the rest is history. The circumstances surrounding Elvis Presley – Elvis Presley were neither simple nor promising, however, nor was there anything in the history of popular music up to that time to hint that Elvis Presley was going to be anything other than « Steve Sholes’ folly, » which was what rival executives were already whispering. So a lot was unsettled and untried at the first of two groups of sessions that produced the Elvis Presley album — it wasn’t even certain that there was any reason for a rock & roll artist to cut an album, because teenagers bought 45s, not LPs. The first of Elvis’ RCA sides yielded one song, « Heartbreak Hotel, » that seemed a potential single, but which no one thought would sell, and a few tracks that would be good enough for an album, if there were one. But no one involved knew anything for sure about this music. Seventeen days later, « Heartbreak Hotel » was released, and for about a month it did nothing — then it began to move, and then Elvis appeared on television, and had a number one pop single. The album Sholes wanted out of Elvis came from two groups of sessions in January and February, augmented by five previously unissued songs from the Sun library. This was as startling a debut record as any ever made, representing every side of Elvis’ musical influences except gospel — rockabilly, blues, R&B, country, and pop were all here in an explosive and seductive combination. Elvis Presley became the first rock & roll album to reach the number one spot on the national charts, and RCA’s first million dollar-earning pop album. –by Bruce Eder


Elvis Presley – Elvis Presley First Album Tracklist

  1. Blue Suede Shoes
  2. Im Counting On You
  3. I Got a Woman
  4. One Sided Love Affair
  5. I Love You Because
  6. Just Because
  7. Tutti Frutti
  8. Trying To Get To You
  9. Im Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry
  10. I’ll Never Let You Down
  11. Blue Moon
  12. Money Honey

Release: Date 1956
Duration: 42:50
Genre: Pop/Rock
Styles: Early Pop/Rock Rock & Roll Rockabilly

Elvis Presley - Elvis Presley First Album

Licence YouTube standard


rock & roll



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs requis sont marqué avec *