Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain

Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain

Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain is the debut album by English electronic duo Goldfrapp. It was released in the United Kingdom on 11 September 2000 by Mute Records. The album takes influence from a variety of music styles such as 1960s pop, cabaret, folk and electronica.

Felt Mountain peaked at number 57 in Goldfrapp’s native United Kingdom, and was certified gold in October 2001. It was generally well received by music critics, and it was described as “simultaneously smarmy and seductive, yet elegant and graceful”. In 2001, the album was shortlisted for the Mercury Prize, an annual music prize awarded for the best British or Irish album from the previous year

AMG Review: Though her collaborations with Tricky, Orbital, and Add N To X focused on the sheer beauty and power of her singing, on her debut album Felt Mountain Allison Goldfrapp also explores more straightforward styles. Together with composer/multi-instrumentalist Will Gregory, Goldfrapp wraps her unearthly voice around songs that borrow from ’60s pop, cabaret, folk, and electronica without sounding derivative or unfocused. From the sci-fi/spy film hybrids “Human” and “Lovely Head” to the title track’s icy purity, the duo strikes a wide variety of poses, giving Felt Mountain a stylized, theatrical feel that never veers into campiness. Though longtime fans of Goldfrapp’s voice may wish for more the exuberant, intoxicating side of her sound, lovelorn ballads like “Pilots,” “Deer Stop,” and “Horse’s Tears” prove that she is equally able at carrying — and writing — more traditional tunes. A strange and beautiful mix of the romantic, eerie, and world-weary, Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain is one of 2000’s most impressive debuts. by Heather Phares


Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain Tracklist

  1.  “Lovely Head” 3:49
  2.  “Paper Bag” 4:05
  3.  “Human” (Tim Norfolk, Bob Locke, Goldfrapp, Gregory) 4:36
  4.  “Pilots” 4:29
  5.  “Deer Stop” 4:06
  6.  “Felt Mountain” 4:17
  7.  “Oompa Radar” 4:42
  8.  “Utopia” 4:18
  9.  “Horse Tears” 5:10

Goldfrapp - Felt Mountain

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.