Hatfield and the North – Hatfield and the North

Hatfield and the North – Hatfield and the North

AMG Review: One of the Canterbury scene’s most revered bands, Hatfield and the North made up for the brevity of their career with some fascinating music. Always adventurous, the quartet had the keen sense to realize that only the most hardened jazz fans respond to numerous key changes and exceedingly complex time signatures, and thus enlivened their live set with the odd gnome smashing, suggestive lyrics, and jokey song titles. It worked a charm, with the band quickly amassing a large, loyal following at home in Britain and across the continent. On their eponymous debut, Hatfield stunningly succeeded in translating both their sense of fun and their musical brilliance onto disc. After a bit of light humor, the band slide into “Going Up to People and Tinkling,” which glides gloriously across the keys and rhythm shifts. Both “Calyx” and “Aigrette” experiment with vocals as an instrument, while the exuberant “Rifferama” is a master class on the use of riffs. However, it’s the expansive “Son of ‘There’s No Place like Homerton'” that forms the album’s centerpiece, a propulsive, keyboard driven piece that still awaits a modern dance troop’s attention. –by Dave Thompsonklist


Hatfield and the North Tracklist

  1. The Stubbs Effect 0:00
  2. Big Jobs (Poo Poo Extract) 0:23
  3. Going Up To People and Tinkling 0:59
  4. Calyx 3:25
  5. Son of ‘There’s No Place Like Homerton 6:11
  6. Aigrette 16:21
  7. Rifferama 18:00
  8. Fol de Rol 20:57
  9. Shaving Is Boring 24:03
  10. Licks for the Ladies 32:50
  11. Big Jobs No. 2 (By Poo and the Wee Wees) 35:27
  12. Bossa Nochance 37:42
  13. Lobster in Cleavage Probe 38:22
  14. Gigantic Land Crabs in Earth Takeover Bid 42:20
  15. The Other Stubbs Effect 45:41
  16. Let’s Eat (Real Soon) [Bonus Track] 46:19
  17. Fitter Stoke Has a Bath [Bonus Track] 49:35
  18. Your Majesty Is Like A Cream Donut incorporating Oh What A Lonely Lifetime 54:10

Phil Miller — guitar
Dave Stewart — Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hammond Organ, Minimoog, Hohner Pianet, Piano, Tone Generator
Richard Sinclair — Bass Guitar, Vocals
Pip Pyle — Drums

Hatfield and the North

Licence YouTube standard

1 comment

  • Free Games Download 4 years ago

    Hatfield and the North is one of those albums that are essential to any musical collection, because of their ability to experiment while still being bound to some sort of code or tradition.


Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.