Hawkwind – Warrior on the Edge of Time

Hawkwind – Warrior on the Edge of Time

Warrior on the Edge of Time is Hawkwind’s fifth studio album. It reached number 13 on the UK album charts and was their third and last album to make the US Billboard chart, where it peaked at number 150. Many of the lyrics are by Michael Moorcock and the Hawkwind’s album is loosely based on the concept of Moorcock’s Eternal Champion.

AMG review: Hawkwind’s fifth studio album: Hawkwind – Warrior on the Edge of Time found the band enjoying a rare oasis of stability after the multitudinous personnel shifts of the past five years. Only the recruitment of a second drummer, Alan Powell, disturbed the equanimity of the lineup that created the previous year’s Hall of the Mountain Grill, although it would soon be time to change again. By the end of the year, bassist Lemmy had departed, vocalist Robert Calvert had rejoined, and Hawkwind’s career-long relationship with United Artists would be over. In the meantime, Hawkwind – Warrior on the Edge of Time ensured that it was brainstorming business as usual. Decorated with a magnificent sleeve that unfolded into the shape of a shield, Warrior on the Edge of Time delivered some of Hawkwind’s best-loved future showstoppers — Simon House’s far-reaching “Spiral Galaxy 28948,” the frenetic “Assault and Battery,” and the monstrous “Magnu” all made their bow here, while the accompanying “Kings of Speed” single was certainly a big hit in the youth clubs of the day, even if it did steadfastly avoid the chart. Remarkable, too, is “The Golden Void,” a stately bolero set, indeed, on the edge of time and buffeted by one of the band’s most impressive ever instrumental performances. A handful of tracks do betray their age. Michael Moorcock’s echo- and effects-laden recitation of “The Wizard Blew His Horn” is impossibly overwrought, although it’s worth sitting through simply for the segue into the throbbing “Opa-Loka”; in fact, the entire album is presented with minimal breaks between tracks, to deliver a seamless treat that — in the light of  next musical moves — has since seen Warrior on the Edge of Time described as the band’s last true “classic.” It isn’t, but you can easily see why people think it might be. –by Dave Thompson


Hawkwind – Warrior on the Edge of Time Tracklist

  1. Assault & Battery part I (5:36)
  2. The Golden Void part II (4:37)
  3. The Wizard Blew His Horn (1:57)
  4. Opa-loka (5:12)
  5. The Demented Man (3:57)
  6. Magnu (8:22)
  7. Standing at The Edge (2:40)
  8. Spiral Galaxy 28948 (3:46)
  9. Warriors (1:58)
  10. Dying Seas (3:05)
  11. Kings of Speed (3:32)

Michael Moorcock – vocals (“The Wizard Blew His Horn” and “Warriors”)
Dave Brock – guitar, keyboards, vocals, bass guitar (“Opa-Loka”)
Nik Turner – saxophone, flute, vocals (“Standing at the Edge”, “Dying Seas”)
Lemmy (Ian Kilmister) – bass guitar, vocals (“Motorhead” )
Simon House – violin, keyboards
Simon King – drums, percussions
Alan Powell – drums, percussion

Hawkwind - Warrior on the Edge of Time

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.