Herbie Hancock – Mr Funk

Herbie Hancock – Mr Funk

‘Andy Kellman’ Opening with the Head Hunters version of “Watermelon Man” and closing with the electro-embracing crossover hit, “Rockit,” Mr. Funk is a semi-random skip across Hancock’s Columbia recordings, and it technically spans 1973-1983 (at least going by release dates), rather than the 1972-1988 range printed on its cover. Its track list looks more like a promo sampler for a round of reissues than a proper introduction to this productive and often trailblazing phase of Hancock’s career. There are some very peculiar choices here. For instance, two cuts off Secrets (1976) are included, while the 1979-1982 albums Feets Don’t Fail Me Now, Monster, and Lite Me Up are shut out.


Herbie Hancock – Mr Funk Tracklist

0:00 – Watermelon Man
6:20 – Actual Proof
16:02 – Hang Up Your Hang Ups
23:28 – Heartbeat
36:26 – Kuru / Speak Like A Child
43:20 – Canteloupe Island
49:45 – Swamp Rat
54:25 – Come Running To Me
58:07 – 4 AM
1:03:25 – Everybody’s Broke
1:10:25 – Rock It

Herbie Hancock - Mr Funk

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.