Hotel Costes vol 4

Hotel Costes vol 4

Hotel Costes vol 4: Quatre is a downtempo/lounge album compiled and mixed by Stéphane Pompougnac, resident DJ of the Parisian cafe/restaurant Hôtel Costes.

AMG Review: The Hotel Costes series continues to compile darkly attractive lounge music for listeners with an ear open to the sounds of percussive drum’n’bass. Many of Stéphane Pompougnac’s picks revolve around the Thievery Corporation sound (Imada, Gotan Project, Dublex Inc.), serrated breakbeats quietly slamming into intelligible jazz and emphasis-free house music. Early on, there’s little beating the Method’s “I’ve Got a Cat.” A taut production and cheerful, simplistic female vocals — the title includes every piece of lyric — float over what can realistically be described as a slide guitar gurgling salt water. With its adaptable selection, hotel costes vol 4 rolls over much of its competition; it’s never too stern and it’s compiled with a light, often unmixed touch. –by Dean Carlson


hotel costes vol 4 Tracklist

  1. “London in the Rain” – Variety Lab
  2. “I’ve Got a Cat” – The Method
  3. “Solar” – Thunderball
  4. “Tango Forte” – Dublex Inc.
  5. “Organ Nights, Pt. 2” – Scott Grooves
  6. “Granada” – Slowsupreme
  7. “Closer to Julie” – Stéphane Pompougnac
  8. “It’s Yours” (Jon’s B-Side Breakdown Mix) – Jon Cutler feat. E-Man
  9. “Playground do Brasil” – Imada
  10. “Sous le Soleil” (Cuba Acoustic Mix) – Major Boys feat. Aurélia Ikor
  11. “Café de Flore” (Charles Webster’s Latin Lovers Mix) – Doctor Rockit
  12. “Época” – Gotan Project
  13. “Whatever” – Shantel
  14. “Boarding” (Doubleseat Mix) – Orbient

hotel costes vol 4

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.