Hozier – Hozier

      Timothy Monger: ‘The recipient of much hype and praise for his breakthrough single “Take Me to Church,” Ireland’s Hozier does plenty to back it up on his self-titled debut LP. A soulful voice and a brooding mystique can get you a long way but fortunately, most of the material here is well-written enough to warrant a deeper look at the young artist many have labeled an old soul. Like fellow Irishman Van Morrison did decades before, Hozier (Andrew Hozier-Byrne) draws on the soul and R&B of Jackie Wilson and runs it through the mystery white-boy filter of Jeff Buckley, adding a touch of Bon Iver’s rural indie aesthetic to mix into his own dark cocktail. Moodcraft and vibe are where Hozier is at his most effective and he hits his mark on the eerie, midnight-hour blues of “Angel of Small Death & the Codeine Scene” with its subtle layers of creepy choir boy and gospel vocals. It’s the logical sequel to his equally haunting “Take Me to Church,” which leads off this set. Coming in at 53 minutes and 13 tracks, the record is probably a bit too lengthy. The album’s best tracks, like the warm, laid-back “Someone New” and the grandiose shuffling of “From Eden” are all front loaded in the first half,….it’s a strong debut and Hozier is far more commanding and convincing than so many other blues-inspired young turks lurking conspicuously in the alleyways of indiedom.’


Hozier – Hozier  Tracklist

1 Take Me to Church 4:02
2 Angel Of Small Death And The Codeine Scene 3:39
3 Jackie and Wilson 3:43
4 Someone New 3:43
5 To Be Alone 5:24
6 From Eden 4:43
7 In a Week 5:18
8 Sedated 3:16
9 Work Song 3:50
10 Like Real People Do 3:18
11 It Will Come Back 4:38
12 Foreigner’s God 3:45
13 Cherry Wine 4:00


Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.