Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights

Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights

      Andy Kellman: ‘ One might go into a review like this one wondering how many words will pass before Joy Division is brought up. In this case, the answer is 16. Many are too quick to classify Interpol as mimics and lose out on discovering that little more than an allusion is being made. The music made by both bands explores the vast space between black and white and produces something pained, deftly penetrating, and beautiful. Save for a couple vocal tics, that’s where the obvious parallels end. The other fleeting comparisons one can one whip up when talking about Interpol are several — roughly the same amount that can be conjured when talking about any other guitar/drums/vocals band formed since the ’90s. So, sure enough, one could play the similarity game with this record all day and bring up a pile of bands. It could be a detrimental thing to do, especially when Turn On The Bright Lights is so spellbinding and doesn’t deserve to be mottled with such bilge. However, this record is a special case; slaying the albatross this band has been unfairly strangled by is urgent and key. …. Turn On The Bright Lights is no fun at all, the tension is rarely resolved, and — oh no! — it isn’t exactly revolutionary, though some new shades of gray have been discovered. But you shouldn’t allow your perception to be fogged by such considerations when someone has just done it for you and, most importantly, when all this brilliance is waiting to overwhelm you.’


Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights Tracklist

  1. Untitled (0:00)
  2. Obstacle 1 (3:55)
  3. NYC (8:06)
  4. PDA (12:27)
  5. Say Hello To The Angels (17:27)
  6. Hands Away (21:55)
  7. Obstacle 2 (25:00)
  8. Stella Was A Diver And She Was Always Down (28:48)
  9. Roland (35:16)
  10. The New (38:52)
  11. Leif Erikson (45:00)

Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.