Jack Johnson – Brushfire Fairytales

Jack Johnson – Brushfire Fairytales

MacKenzie Wilson: ‘Jack Johnson, the multi-talented American guy who likes to surf and play music, makes an honest impression on his debut album, Brushfire Fairytales. He’s not focused on any genre in particular, but stays close to acoustic simplicities. Ben Harper’s producer, J.P. Plunier, lends a hand and perfects Jack Johnson ‘s basic songwriting into a charming and inviting soundscape of songs most personal to Johnson. It’s poetically abrasive, especially on tracks like “Sexy Plexi” and “Fortunate Fool,” but Jack Johnson is a regular guy and his most natural feelings are indeed candid. “Inaudible Melodies” is a bluesy mix of lazy harmonies and acoustical twitching, whereas “Flake” is an easy flow of American trad rock, quite similar to Dave Matthews, but echoing steel drums and Harper’s blistering lap steel guitar make for an outstanding rock & roll romp. Jack Johnson’s voice, which is hauntingly like Wes Cunningham, makes Brushfire Fairytales a decent record. He’s not noisy or gregarious. He’s content with his new creative finding. He might chase waves in his other life, but his songwriting ways do make for something quite charming’


Jack Johnson – Brushfire Fairytales Tracklist

  1. Inaudible Melodies 03:35
  2. Middle Man 03:14
  3. Posters 03:13
  4. Sexy Plexi 02:07
  5. Flake 04:40
  6. Bubble Toes 03:56
  7. Fortunate Fool 03:48
  8. The News 02:26
  9. Drink the Water 03:21
  10. Mudfootball (For Moe Lerner) 03:04
  11. F-Stop Blues 03:10
  12. Losing Hope 03:51
  13. It’s All Understood 05:29

Brushfire Fairytales

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.