Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Jake Bugg is the self-titled debut studio album by English singer-songwriter Jake Bugg. It was released on 15 October 2012 in the UK. The album has received generally favourable reviews from critics. It was nominated for the 2013 Mercury Prize. Barry Nicolson of New Musical Express magazine gave the album a positive review and 9/10, praising Bugg’s “authenticity”, style of music and wit. Nicolson said: “On ‘Two Fingers’, Bugg talks wistfully of scheming on the streets of Clifton, where he and his mates would “skin up a fat one, hide from the feds”, as though life held no nobler pursuit. You can tell that, up until now, his world has been small, and he might well have spiraled down the sinkhole that swallows so many marginalised estate kids. Eventually, however, Bugg comes to the same conclusion that we do: “Something is changing, changing, changing”. If this debut album – rife with uncommon wit, insight and melody – is testament to anything, it’s that his small, unremarkable world is about to get a whole lot bigger.” ‘James Wilkinson’ All in all, though Bugg’s debut may not share the wordy precociousness of Conor Oberst’s formative steps or the political astuteness of Willy Mason on Where the Humans Eat, it’s his sheer earnestness and rare gift for writing simple, hook-filled tunes that ultimately charm the listener.


Jake Bugg Tracklist

  1. 00:00 Lightning Bolt
  2. 02:29 Two Fingers
  3. 06:13 Taste It
  4. 08:39 Seen It All
  5. 11:38 Simple As This
  6. 14:58 Country Song
  7. 17:05 Broken
  8. 21:17 Trouble Town
  9. 24:09 Ballad Of Mr Jones
  10. 26:43 Slide
  11. 29:52 Someone Told Me
  12. 32:29 Note To Self
  13. 35:14 Someplace
  14. 38:27 Fire

Jake Bugg

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.