Jóhann Jóhannsson – Free the Mind

      The score is written for a 60 piece orchestra, piano, percussion and electronics. It was recorded in Studio 22, Hungarian Radio in Budapest and was conducted by Peter Pejtsik. The film follows a group of veterans from the war in Afghanistan suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder who undergo treatment involving yoga and meditation, overseen by the world-renowned psychiatrist, Richard Davidson. By studying Buddhist monks, Davidson has found that it is possible to rewire your brain through meditation. Some of the effects are that you become more altruistic, compassionate and happy. Davidson also wants to study how early in life you can start, using the same methods of meditation and yoga in an experiment with children with ADHD. Through the film, we experience what meditation does to human beings and we investigate, if we, by using other methods than taking medicine to ease our pain, can lead less stressful and happier lives.


Jóhann Jóhannsson – Free the Mind Tracklist

1. Free The Mind
2. Radio
3. Elevator I
4. Elevator II
5. Neurons
6. Night Montage
7. First Attempts
8. Sparkles
9. Breathe
10. Will’s Story
11. Meditation
12. Lab
13. Emotional Intelligence
14. Innocence
15. Separation
16. Love After Love

Jóhann Jóhannsson - Free the Mind

Licence YouTube standard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *