Josh Groban – Noël

Josh Groban – Noël

Amazon: The Grammy-nominated, twenty-something, pop-classical phenomenon’s fourth studio album is an expertly accomplished entry to the holiday marketplace. Noël tackles the familiar sounds of holiday music with a charmingly eclectic array of guest vocalists and a wide range of material. The songs range from the sacred to the secular, while Groban–buoyed in spots by none other than the London Symphony Orchestra–soars in his duets with Brian McKnight, Faith Hill, and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. There’s even a song with a gospel choir directed by Kirk Franklin. Produced yet again by crossover maestro David Foster, the arrangements never overwhelm the songs. Groban’s smooth and supple vocals can be hard to categorize–seeing how his range is somewhere in-between a high baritone and a low tenor–but he always finds and emphasizes the emotional core of these songs. And whether they have origins in pop or classical music seems not to matter. The addition of messages from troops stationed in Iraq on top of “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” is undeniably heart-wrenching, while the album’s highlight is its most spare song, “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear,” which finds Groban alone at his piano, sounding very much like some kind of angel. –Mike McGonigal


Josh Groban – Noël Tracklist

1. Silent Night 00:00
2. Little Drummer Boy Feat Guitarist Andy McKee and Gigi Hadid 05:25
3. I’ll Be Home for Christmas 11:46
4. Ave Maria 16:02
5. Angels We Have Heard on High Feat Brian McKnight 22:21
6. Thankful 27:05
7. The Christmas Song 33:07
8. What Child Is This? 38:00
9. The First Noël Feat Faith Hill 43:09
10. Petit Papa Noël 49:04
11. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear 53:58
12. Panis Angelicus 58:11
13. O Come All Ye Faithfu Feat The Mormon Tabernacle Choir 01:03:33
14. Noche De Paz 01:09:39
15. O, Holy Night 01:13:52

Josh Groban - Noël

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.