Led Zeppelin – Coda

      Stephen Thomas Erlewine: ‘An odds-and-sods collection assembled after John Bonham’s death, Coda is predictably a hit-or-miss affair. The best material comes from later in Led Zeppelin’s career, including the ringing folk stomp of “Poor Tom,” the jacked-up ’50s rock & roll of “Ozone Baby,” and their response to punk rock, the savage “Wearing and Tearing.” The rest of the album — sadly including the Bonham showcase “Bonzo’s Montreux” — is average, despite the presence of some stellar playing, especially on the early blues-rock blitzkrieg “I Can’t Quit You Baby” and “We’re Gonna Groove.” ‘

Amazon: Led Zeppelin – Coda , released in 1982 after the breakup of the band, was the result of a trawl through the studio archives in search of leftover material. In fact, they had already used up almost all of the good stuff; this was Led Zeppelin’s only disappointing album. Nevertheless, even relatively poor material by Led Zeppelin is decent and some tracks here are classic, notably “Poor Tom,” “Ozone Baby,” and “Wearing and Tearing.” The latter, one of three outtakes from the In Through the Out Door sessions, features a particularly high-octane blend of stripped-down, grungy rock & roll and is considered their response to the then-burgeoning punk movement. With so little studio material available, live versions of “I Can’t Quit You Babe” and “We’re Gonna Groove” from 1970 flesh out the set; the former features some blistering playing. –James Swift


Led Zeppelin – Coda Tracklist

  1. We’re Gonna Groove 0:00
  2. Poor Tom 2:37
  3. I Can’t Quit You Baby 5:39
  4. Walter’s Walk 9:58
  5. Ozone Baby 14:28
  6. Darlene 18:04
  7. Bonzo’s Montreux 23:11
  8. Wearing & Tearing 27:30

Led Zeppelin - Coda

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.