Linkin Park – Living Things

Linkin Park – Living Things is the fifth studio album by the American rock band Linkin Park. The band states that Living Things combines elements from their previous four studio albums to create a new sound. They stated they finally felt they were in “familiar territory” and “comfortable in [their] own skin” after years of experimentation that resulted in their two previous studio albums, Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns. Living Things was chosen as the album’s title because of the numerous personal topics on the album

AMG review: Linkin Park got pretty moody on 2010’s A Thousand Suns, settling into a sulky electronica groove that pretty much screamed “growing pains” to anybody who listened closely. On its 2012 sequel, Linkin Park – Living Things, Linkin Park attempts to graft guitars back onto their newly mature musical outlook, and the reintroduction of visceral force certainly helps give this album a pulse lacking on A Thousand Suns. It’s hardly a step back to the old angst-ridden rap-rockers of the turn of the millennium, however. Admirably, Linkin Park revels in a near-middle-aged angst, letting their songs address adult concerns and giving their productions contours and texture; the additional noise isn’t an expression of fury, it’s used to enhance the drama. Generally, the songs feel sharper on Living Things — there is definition to their structure, some of the choruses catch hold without too much effort — but this album remains one of sustained mood, not individual moments. And in that regard, Living Things handily trumps A Thousand Suns: it doesn’t stay still, it peaks and ebbs, flowing steadily between brooding and explosions of repressed rage, a fitting soundtrack for aging rap-rockers who are comfortable in their skin but restless at heart. –by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


Linkin Park – Living Things Tracklist

  1. 00:00 – LOST IN THE ECHO
  2. 03:28 – IN MY REMAINS
  3. 06:48 – BURN IT DOWN
  4. 10:39 – LIES, GREED, MISERY
  5. 13:04 – I’LL BE GONE
  6. 16:35 – CASTLE OF GLASS
  7. 19:59 – VICTIMIZED
  9. 25:34 – SKIN TO BONE
  10. 28:22 – UNTIL IT BREAKS
  11. 32:10 – TINFOIL
  12. 33:17 – POWERELESS
    Linkin Park - Living Things

Licence YouTube standard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *