Michael Franks – The Art Of Tea

Michael Franks – The Art Of Tea

AMG Review: After his debut on the tiny Brut Records (a short-lived record label of the famous cologne company), Michael Franks established both his unique sound and a recording process he has continued throughout his career. Primarily a jazz artist, Franks crossed over to pop and rock fans through heavy FM airplay beginning with Michael Franks – The Art Of Tea. Sensually suggestive and playful tracks, such as “Popsicle Toes” and “Eggplant” contain sly wordplay and almost Henry Mancini-like, breezy jazz-pop. Employing a similar approach as Steely Dan did with its music, Franks’ singing and songwriting formed the basis of a sound rooted in the support of top-notch musicians, many of whom were the hottest studio jazz players on the scene. Here, the killer rhythm section of drummer John Guerin and bassist Wilton Felder is augmented by horn pros Michael Brecker and David Sanborn, with Franks and Larry Carlton handling all the guitar work. This winning combination of players, styles, singing, and songwriting would be reshuffled and refined over the years, but perhaps with no finer results than on this official major label debut. –by Stephen J. Matteo


Michael Franks – The Art Of Tea Tracklist

  1.  Nightmoves
  2.  Eggplant
  3.  Monkey See-Monkey Do
  4.  St. Elmo’s Fire
  5.  I Don’t Know Why I’m So Happy I’m Sad
  6.  Jive
  7.  Popsicle Toes
  8.  Sometimes I Just Forget to Smile
  9.  Mr. Blue

Michael Franks - The Art Of Tea

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.