Naxatras – lll

Naxatras – lll

      Naxatras is a hard psychedelic rock band from Greece. They play a warm psychedelia full of fat grooves, dreamy melodies, heavy riffs and trippy guitar solos all with the vintage touch of the 70’s. They have been playing and developing their sound since 2012. In 2015, they recorded their first full-length album at Magnetic Fidelity with Jesus I. Agnew as their sound engineer, who contributed his in-depth knowledge of analog recording and the independent music industry.

      The Greek three-piece Naxatras is putting out their third full length album, aptly titled III, this week. The band pulls heavily from the American acid rock wave that crested in 1969, but they don’t go as far as the screechingly rebellious solos filled with feedback. They settle instead for the more mellow and mature influences of 70s psychedelic bands like Pink Floyd and Hawkwind. Most of the songs are rather subdued and edge toward fusion. Naxatras sounds like a funk bassist recruited a jazz drummer and a psychedelic guitarist. The combination works really well, which is probably not surprising given that all three styles hearken to similar roots.
There is a lot of space in the soundscape, with the band foregoing massive fuzz or building a wall of sound until late in the record. Guitarist John Delias uses a lot of reverb, especially in solo sections, and this aids the band in attaining the psychedelic feel they aspire to. What I like most about the compositions is that the bass and guitar trade the melody back and forth and cooperate in evolving ideas. Bassist John Vagenas (who also provides vocals) easily carries the melody through long solo sections, adds fills, and suggests new motifs. Drummer Kostas Harizanis has a knack for subtlety and timing, tapping the high hat for surprising and light-hearted fills, assisting builds, and swinging easily along with more fervent sections of the songs.

John Vagenas – bass guitar/lead vocals
John Delias – guitar/vocals
Kostas Harizanis – drums


Naxatras – lll Tracklist

1. You Won’t Be Left Alone – 0:00
2. On the Silver Line – 11:18
3. Land of Infinite Time – 21:12
4. Machine – 33:13
5. Prophet – 44:01
6. White Morning – 52:07
7. Spring Song – 59:17

Naxatras - lll

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.