Rush – 2112

Rush – 2112

Rush – 2112 is the fourth studio album by Canadian rock band, Rush. Released in 1976, the album features an eponymous seven-part suite written by Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson, with lyrics written by Neil Peart telling a dystopian story set in the year 2112. The album is sometimes described as a concept album although the songs on the second side are unrelated to the plot of the suite.

Rush – 2112 is one of two Rush albums listed in 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die (the other being Moving Pictures). In 2006, a poll of Planet Rock listeners picked 2112 as the definitive Rush album. In 2012, the album came in at #2 on Rolling Stone’s list for ‘Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time’, as voted for in a reader’s poll, being one of three Rush albums included on the list (the others being Moving Pictures and Hemispheres).

AMG review:  Whereas Rush’s first two releases, their self-titled debut and Fly by Night, helped create a buzz among hard rock fans worldwide, the more progressive third release, Caress of Steel, confused many of their supporters. Rush knew it was now or never with their fourth release, and they delivered just in time — 1976’s Rush – 2112 proved to be their much sought-after commercial breakthrough and remains one of their most popular albums. Instead of choosing between prog rock and heavy rock, both styles are merged together to create an interesting and original approach. The entire first side is comprised of the classic title track, which paints a chilling picture of a future world where technology is in control (Peart’s lyrics for the piece being influenced by Ayn Rand). Comprised of seven « sections, » the track proved that the trio members were fast becoming rock’s most accomplished instrumentalists. The second side contains shorter selections, such as the Middle Eastern-flavored « A Passage to Bangkok » and the album-closing rocker « Something for Nothing. » 2112 is widely considered by the band fans as their first true « classic » album, the first in a string of similarly high-quality albums. –by Greg Prato


Rush – 2112 Tracklist

1. 2112 – 00:00
2. A Passage To Bangkok – 20:34
3. The Twilight Zone – 24:08
4. Lessons – 27:27
5. Tears – 31:20
6. Something For Nothing – 34:54

Rush - 2112

Licence YouTube standard

Ratings: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
3 960 views

Une réponse à “Rush – 2112”

  1. this is great blog, I will certainly be back.

Laisser un commentaire