Slowdive – Souvlaki

Slowdive – Souvlaki

      Jack Rabid: ‘Though not as big and swirling as Just for a Day, there’s more of an attempt to put advanced song structure and melody in place rather than just craft infinitely appealing, occasionally thunderous mood music. Everything is simplified, as if Brian Eno’s presence on two songs — he contributes keyboards and treatments and co-wrote one tune after turning down the band’s invitation to produce — hammered home the better aspects of “ambient” music. This is no Music for Airports though. On the opening “Alison,” the largely uplifting “When the Sun Hits,” and the darkly blissful “Machine Gun,” Slowdive are still capable of mouth-opening, spine-tingling flourishes. They’ve found a way to be quiet, moving, and aggressive simultaneously, mixing trance-like beauty with the deepest delayed guitar sounds around, a sound at once relaxing, soothing, and exciting, and most of all harshly beautiful.’


Slowdive – Souvlaki Tracklist

  1.  Alison – 00:00
  2.  Machine Gun – 03:53
  3.  40 Days – 08:20
  4.  Sing – 11:35
  5.  Here She Comes – 16:26
  6.  Souvlaki Space Station – 18:43
  7.  When The Sun Hits – 24:42
  8.  Altogether – 29:30
  9.  Melon Yellow – 33:16
  10.  Dagger – 37:05

Slowdive - Souvlaki

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.