Steely Dan – Aja

Steely Dan – Aja is the sixth album by the jazz rock band Steely Dan.  In 2003, the album was ranked number 145 on Rolling Stone’s “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time” list.

Donald Fagen has said the title of the album comes from the name of a Korean woman who married the brother of a high-school friend of his. The cover photo by Hideki Fujii features Japanese model/actress Sayoko Yamaguchi.
Summarising the style of the band at the time the album was released, music critic Andy Gill said: “Jazz-rock was a fundamental part of the 70s musical landscape.. but Steely Dan weren’t a band of rock or pop music with ideas above its station, and it wasn’t jazzers slumming… it was a very well-forged alloy of the two – you couldn’t separate the jazz music from the pop in their music

AMG Review: Steely Dan hadn’t been a real working band since Pretzel Logic, but with Steely Dan – Aja, Walter Becker and Donald Fagen’s obsession with sonic detail and fascination with composition reached new heights. A coolly textured and immaculately produced collection of sophisticated jazz-rock, Aja has none of the overt cynicism or self-consciously challenging music that distinguished previous Steely Dan records. Instead, it’s a measured and textured album, filled with subtle melodies and accomplished, jazzy solos that blend easily into the lush instrumental backdrops. But Steely Dan – Aja isn’t just about texture, since Becker and Fagen’s songs are their most complex and musically rich set of songs — even the simplest song, the sunny pop of “Peg,” has layers of jazzy vocal harmonies. In fact, Steely Dan ignores rock on here, preferring to fuse cool jazz, blues, and pop together in a seamless, seductive fashion. It’s complex music delivered with ease, and although the duo’s preoccupation with clean sound and self-consciously sophisticated arrangements would eventually lead to a dead end, It’s a shining example of jazz-rock at its finest. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine


Steely Dan – Aja Tracklist

  1.  Black Cow – 0:00
  2.  Aja – 5:10
  3. Deacon Blues – 13:07
  4.  Peg – 20:44
  5. Home at Last – 24:44
  6. I Got the News – 30:19
  7. Josie – 35:26

Steely Dan - Aja

Licence YouTube standard


Jazz Rock, Pop



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



  • m. (bob) benson 5 months ago

    great site thanks.

  • Johne905 1 year ago

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or enewsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks. aeeefkedakck

  • Steve 3102 1 year ago

    Absolute masterpiece from the Dan.