Stephen Bishop – Careless

      Lindsay Planer ‘Even before Stephen Bishop (guitar, trombone, vocals) issued his debut long-player, Careless, in 1978, he’d already become a music industry insider. Bishop was discovered by Art Garfunkel in the 1970s as a publisher, where he penned songs for a diversity of artists ranging from Barbra Streisand to the Four Tops. His well-crafted melodies were matched by his strengths as a lyricist, evoking strong imagery with more than a touch of organic whimsy. This album is a star-studded affair, and among the talent on hand is Rufus vocalist Chaka Kahn, who had previously been the recipient of a few Bishop compositions. Eric Clapton contributes guitar to several cuts, including some tasty electric slide work on the midtempo rocker “Sinking in an Ocean of Tears,” and both Kahn and Clapton are featured on the light and faintly tropical Top 40 entry “Save It for a Rainy Day.” The biggest hit extracted from Careless is truly the stuff of adult contemporary heaven, as the somnolent “On and On” made it all the way to number 11 on the Pop Singles survey in early 1977. …… Bishop demonstrates his inimitable tongue-in-cheek wit on “Rock and Roll Slave.” With a name like that, one might expect a ballsy and uptempo slasher, right? Listeners will be pleasantly surprised as the artist’s phraseology is particularly stellar, with examples including “There’ll be a million tomorrows tonight.” ‘


Stephen Bishop – Careless Tracklist

  1. 00:00 1 – On And On
  2. 03:03 2 – Never Letting Go
  3. 06:52 3 – Careless
  4. 10:38 4 – Sinking In An Ocean Of Tears
  5. 13:46 5 – Madge
  6. 17:49 6 – Every Minute
  7. 21:47 7 – Little Italy
  8. 25:15 8 – One More Night
  9. 29:17 9 – Guitar Interlude
  10. 29:53 10 – Save It For A Rainy Day
  11. 33:05 11 – Rock And Roll Slave36:44 12 – The Same Old Tears On A New Background

Stephen Bishop - Careless

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.