Steve Hackett – A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Steve Hackett – A Midsummer Night’s Dream

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is a lengthy suite for guitar and orchestra. I’d call it a ballet – and it’s easy to imagine it being danced. The overall sound is decidedly Romantic, with a mix of influences: a lot of mid-nineteenth century classical guitar music; twentieth-century Segovia repertoire such as Ponce, Castelnuovo-Tedesco and Villa-Lobos; impressionistic Genesis, and some Bach. Given Steve’s extraordinary gift for melody, the result is magical. I’m surprised but not shocked by Hackett’s proficiency with the classical guitar. His tone is warm and pleasing – a short nail sound. He doesn’t yank at the strings as might be expected. His rhythm is sure, scales quick, voices clearly articulated, tremeloes fast and even, harmonics bright and… wow, what a vibrato! Only the arpeggios are a little uneven, although most are very good.
‘Bruce Eder’ Ex-Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett steps into Anthony Phillips territory on this classical instrumental album inspired by the Shakespeare play, which grew into a CD-length suite recorded with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The music is a hauntingly beautiful mix of Elizabethan, Romantic, and Modern influences, all of it highly melodic and very animated. In all, this could be the most serious and compelling of all of Hackett’s solo ventures…


Steve Hackett – A Midsummer Night’s Dream Tracklist

1 The Palace Of Theseus 0:00
2 A Form In Wax 2:46
3 By Paved Fountain 7:27
4 Titania 9:28
5 Set Your Heart At Rest 11:52
6 Oberon 15:23
7 Within This Wood 17:55
8 In The Beached Margent Of The Sea 20:31
9 Between The Cold Moon & The Earth 23:10
10 Puck 25:54
11 Helena 26:47
12 Peaseblossom, Cobweb, Moth & Mustardseed 31:09
13 Mountains Turned Into Clouds 36:38
14 The Lunatic, The Lover & The Poet 41:15
15 Starlight 45:29
16 Lysander & Demetrius 50:17
17 Celebration 53:01
18 All Is Mended 59:17

Steve Hackett - A Midsummer Night's Dream

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.