Steve Hackett – Metamorpheus

Steve Hackett – Metamorpheus

    Greg Prato:  ‘Although he made a name for himself as the guitarist for prog rockers Genesis and mainstream rockers GTR, Steve Hackett also possesses an admiration of tranquil, classical guitar-based work. This has never been more evident than on his 2005 release, Steve Hackett – Metamorpheus, which sees Hackett playing alongside the Underworld Orchestra — comprised of violin, cello, double bass, flute, and horns. Fans expecting The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, Pt. 2, may be in for a shock, but for relaxing, orchestral-based music, Metamorpheus is a worthy listen. Following in the stylistic footsteps of Hackett’s 1997 release, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, the best bits on the all-instrumental Metamorpheus are when Hackett’s nylon-stringed guitar is pushed to the forefront, as evidenced by the album opener, “The Pool of Memory and the Pool of Forgetfulness” (possibly the album’s best track), as well as “That Vast Life.” Over the years, Hackett has more than proven his talent for playing demanding rock-based song structures, but as evidenced throughout Metamorpheus, he is an exceptional classical guitarist as well. ‘

Steve Hackett – guitars
John Hackett – flute, piccolo, guitar, orchestral arrangements
Colin Clague – trumpet
Dick Driver – double bass
Richard Kennedy – french horn
Richard Stewart – cello
Lucy Wilkins – violin
Sara Wilson – cello


Steve Hackett – Metamorpheus Tracklist

  1. “The Pool of Memory and the Pool of Forgetfulness” – 2:15
  2. “To Earth Like Rain” – 1:33
  3. “Song to Nature” – 3:02
  4. “One Real Flower” – 3:12
  5. “The Dancing Ground” – 3:02
  6. “That Vast Life” – 12:27
  7. “Eurydice Taken” – 1:48
  8. “Charon’s Call” – 3:15
  9. “Cerberus at Peace” – 2:06
  10. “Under the World – Orpheus Looks Back” – 5:16
  11. “The Broken Lyre” – 3:17
  12. “Severance” – 3:05
  13. “Elegy” – 3:18
  14. “Return to the Realm of Eternal Renewal” – 2:56
  15. “Lyra” – 6:36

Steve Hackett - Metamorpheus

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.