The Byrds – Mr. Tambourine Man

Mr. The Byrds – Mr. Tambourine Man is the debut album by the American folk rock band The Byrds and was released in June 1965 on Columbia Records (see 1965 in music).[1] The album, along with the single of the same name, established the band as an internationally successful rock act and was also influential in originating the musical style known as folk rock.[2] The term “folk rock” was, in fact, first coined by the U.S. music press to describe the band’s sound in mid-1965, at around the same time that the “Mr. Tambourine Man” single reached the top of the Billboard chart.[3] The single and album also represented the first effective American challenge to the dominance of The Beatles and the British Invasion during the mid-1960s.

AMG Review: One of the greatest debuts in the history of rock, Mr. Tambourine Man was nothing less than a significant step in the evolution of rock & roll itself, demonstrating that intelligent lyrical content could be wedded to compelling electric guitar riffs and a solid backbeat. It was also the album that was most responsible for establishing folk-rock as a popular phenomenon, its most alluring traits being Roger McGuinn’s immediately distinctive 12-string Rickenbacker jangle and the band’s beautiful harmonies. The material was uniformly strong, whether they were interpreting Bob Dylan (on the title cut and three other songs, including the hit single “All I Really Want to Do”), Pete Seeger (“The Bells of Rhymney”), or Jackie DeShannon (“Don’t Doubt Yourself, Babe”). The originals were lyrically less challenging, but equally powerful musically, especially Gene Clark’s “I Knew I’d Want You,” “I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better,” and “Here Without You”; “It’s No Use” showed a tougher, harder-rocking side and a guitar solo with hints of psychedelia. –by Richie Unterberger


The Byrds – Mr. Tambourine Man Tracklist

  1. 00:00-01 – Mr. Tambourine Man
  2. 02:39-02 – I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better
  3. 05:11-03 – Spanish Harlem Incident
  4. 07:17-04 – You Won’t Have To Cry
  5. 09:28-05 – Here Without You
  6. 12:05-06 – The Bells Of Rhymney
  7. 15:43-07 – All I Really Want To Do
  8. 17:49-08 – I Knew I’d Want You
  9. 20:08-09 – It’s No Use
  10. 22:38-10 – Don’t Doubt Yourself, Babe
  11. 25:33-11 – Chimes Of Freedom
  12. 29:32-12 – We’ll Meet Again

Release Date: June 21, 1965
Duration: 35:38
Genre: Pop/Rock – Folk –
Styles: Folk-Pop – Folk-Rock – Psychedelic/Garage – AM Pop – Contemporary Pop/Rock

The Byrds - Mr. Tambourine Man

Licence YouTube standard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *