The Modern Lovers – The Modern Lovers

The Modern Lovers – The Modern Lovers

The Modern Lovers is the first album recorded by the Boston-based band the Modern Lovers. It was released on Beserkley Records in 1976, although the original nine tracks had been recorded in 1972. Six of the original tracks were produced by John Cale. In 2003, the album was ranked number 381 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. ‘Stephen Thomas Erlewine’ Compiled of demos the band recorded with John Cale in 1973, The Modern Lovers is one of the great proto-punk albums of all time, capturing an angst-ridden adolescent geekiness which is married to a stripped-down, minimalistic rock & roll derived from the art punk of the Velvet Underground.

Jonathan Richman — vocals, electric guitars
Jerry Harrison — piano, organ, backing vocals
Ernie Brooks — bass, backing vocals
David Robinson — drums, backing vocals


The Modern Lovers – The Modern Lovers Tracklist

  1. 0:00 Roadrunner
  2. 4:05 Astral Plane
  3. 7:07 Old World
  4. 11:11 Pablo Picasso
  5. 15:32 I’m Straight
  6. 19:50 Dignified and Old
  7. 22:20 She Cracked
  8. 25:16 Hospital
  9. 30:52 Someone I Care About
  10. 34:31 Girl Friend
  11. 38:26 Modern World
  12. 42:10 Government Center

The Modern Lovers

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.