Tori Amos – Boys For Pele

 Tori Amos – Boys For Pele

Boys for Pele is the third studio album by American singer and song-writer Tori Amos. Preceded by the first single, “Caught a Lite Sneeze”, by three weeks, the album was released on 22 January 1996, in the United Kingdom and on 23 January in the United States. Despite the album being Amos’ least accessible material to radio to date,Boys for Pele debuted at # 2 on both the Billboard 200 and the UK Top 40,making it her biggest simultaneous transatlantic debut, her first Billboard top 10 debut, and the highest-charting US debut of her career to date.

Boys for Pele was recorded in rural Ireland and Louisiana and features 18 songs that incorporate harpsichord, clavichord, harmonium, gospel choirs, brass bands and full orchestras. Amos wrote all of the tracks, and for the first time, she served as the producer for her own album. For Amos, the album was a step into a different direction, in terms of singing, songwriting, and recording, and is experimental in comparison to her previous work.

AMG review: Highly ambitious, challenging, idiosyncratic, and confounding, Boys for Pele expands on the more experimental and progressive tendencies of Under the Pink. Amos frequently discards traditional song structures and employs wide-ranging, eclectic instrumentation in her music, while her lyrics seem to grow even more obscure, giving the album a very impressionistic feel. While there are certainly worthwhile moments, her experiments don’t always work; some of the songs fail to stick, and it takes a few plays before many start to sink in. Ultimately, Boys for Pele is polarizing: Some Amos fans will only admire her more for taking the risks she does, while others may find to their disappointment that the intimacy and personal connection that helped Amos build her fan base are too difficult to detect. –by Steve Huey


Tori Amos – Boys For Pele Tracklist

  1. Beauty Queen / Horses  0:00
  2. Blood Roses 6:05 
  3. Father Lucifer 10:05
  4. Professional Widow 13:45
  5. Mr Zebra 18:17
  6. Marianne 19:24 
  7. Caught a Lite Sneeze 23:34
  8. Muhammad My Friend 27:59
  9. Hey Jupiter 31:49
  10. Way Down 37:03
  11. Little Amsterdam 38:15 
  12. Talula 42:46
  13. Not the Red Baron 46:35
  14. Agent Orange 50:21
  15. Doughnut Song 51:47 
  16. In the Springtime of His Voodoo 56:06
  17. Putting the Damage On 1:01:40
  18. Twinkle 1:06:55

Tori Amos - Boys For Pele

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.