Tycho – Dive

AMG Review: The transcendental soundscapes of San Francisco’s Scott Hansen sparkle and shine in Tycho’s first Ghostly release. The San Francisco graphic designer/electronic musician stays dedicated to the musical styles of Boards of Canada and Ulrich Schnauss, with liquid keyboards drizzled over gentle beats, but as the popularity of chillwave continues to increase, these types of hazy meditations are as relevant as ever. When the airy vocals of Jianda Johnson are introduced in the title track, Hansen’s warm mellow grooves fall right in line with groups like Small Black, Neon Indian, and M83. Additional live instrumentation — provided by guitarist Zac Brown and bassists Dusty Brown and Matt McCord (on “A Walk” and “Ascension”) — makes Dive more multidimensional than 2004’s Sunrise Projector or 2006’s Past Is Prologue. Likewise, it’s his most downtempo effort, and all that much more soothing and captivating. –by Jason Lymangrover


Tycho – Dive Tracklist

  1. 00:00 : A Walk
  2. 05:16 : Hours
  3. 11:04 : Daydream
  4. 16:35 : Dive
  5. 24:55 : Coastal Brake
  6. 30:32 : Ascension
  7. 34:54 : Melanine
  8. 37:48 : Adrift
  9. 43:47 : Epigram
  10. 46:20 : Elegy

Tycho - Dive

Licence YouTube standard





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *