Ulver – The Assassination of Julius Caesar

Ulver – The Assassination of Julius Caesar

      Thom Jurek: ‘”I want to tell you something/About the grace of faded things….” This line from the song “Southern Gothic,” delivered by Ulver’s Kristoffer Rygg near the end of The Assassination of Julius Caesar, eventually becomes a manifesto for the single-minded aesthetic pursued on the group’s first self-described “pop album.” There is no irony in that statement. Ulver have quite literally changed with every recording; they’re impossible to pigeonhole. Here they circle back to the decade before their own musical emergence, delivering a deliciously dark, utterly seductive set drenched in moody ’80s synth pop. As they do, they lyrically examine and juxtapose elements of history, philosophy, spirituality, and the quark strangeness of popular culture…..       The beauty in The Assassination of Julius Caesar emerges from the fact that Ulver utilize these many sources so deliberately. The music is slick, smooth, and haunted with melancholy, but this record could only have come from them. They embrace synth pop’s production sheen to confront critical prejudices and misperceptions. They offer not mere nostalgia, but the abundant creative possibilities synth pop still has on offer.’


Ulver – The Assassination of Julius Caesar tracklist

1. 00:00:00 Ulver Nemoralia
2. 00:04:10 Ulver Rolling Stone
3. 00:13:36 Ulver So Falls the World
4. 00:19:33 Ulver Southern Gothic
5. 00:23:13 Ulver Angelus Novus
6. 00:27:20 Ulver Transverberation
7. 00:31:50 Ulver 1969
8. 00:35:49 Ulver Coming Home

Ulver - The Assassination of Julius Caesar

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.