America – History: America’s Greatest Hits

Published on 19 January 2020 by

      History: America’s Greatest Hits is the first compilation album by American folk rock trio America, released by Warner Bros. Records in 1975. It was a success in the United States, reaching number 3 on the Billboard album chart and being certified multi-platinum by the RIAA. It has also been certified 6 times platinum by ARIA for shipments of 420,000 copies in Australia

      Stephen Cook: Mirroring the cover art depiction of America’s dual life in England and the U.S., History: Greatest Hits perfectly spotlights both the polished and layered production of British studio legend George Martin and the West Coast tones of the band’s folk-pop style. Featuring the group’s many chart toppers from the first half of the ’70s, this definitive roundup includes Neil Young-style acoustic sides like “Lonely People,” the hippie MOR of “Muskrat Love,” and breezy acid rock like “Sandman.” And even though Martin didn’t produce the entire lot of songs here, his sophisticated and mostly subtle way with strings, keyboards, and multi-track guitars is in evidence throughout. Adding to the fun are additional highlights like the updated surf cut “Sister Golden Hair” and ingenious McCartney-esque pop like “Only in Your Heart” and “Daisy Jane.” An essential collection for fans who like their ’70s folk with a pop sheen, loads of hooks, and top-drawer arrangements. 


America – History: America’s Greatest Hits Tracklist

  1. 00:00 – A Horse With No Name
  2. 04:10 – Daisy Jane
  3. 07:16 – Don’t Cross The River
  4. 09:47 – I Need You
  5. 12:54 – Lonely People
  6. 15:22 – Muskrat Love
  7. 18:30 – Only In Your Heart
  8. 21:42 – Sandman
  9. 25:53 – Sister Golden Hair
  10. 29:10 – Tin Man
  11. 32:39 – Ventura Highway
  12. 36:04 – Woman Tonight

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "America Greatest Hits History - America's Greatest Hits"

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.