Bruce Springsteen – The River

Published on 30 March 2019 by

      William Ruhlmann: ‘Imbedded within the double-disc running time of Bruce Springsteen – The River is a single-disc album that follows up on the themes and sound of Darkness on the Edge of Town — wide-screen, midtempo rock and stories of the disillusionment of working-class life and the conflicts within families. In these songs, which include the title track, “Independence Day,” and “Point Blank,” Bruce Springsteen’s world-view is just as dire as it had become on Darkness, but less judgmental. “Independence Day,” for example, is a father-and-son ballad that has little of the anger of its hard rock counterpart on Darkness, “Adam Raised a Cain.” Springsteen’s heroes again seek to overcome their crushing troubles through defiance and by driving around, and though “The River” repeats the soured love theme of “Racing in the Street,” he also posits romance as a possible escape, sometimes combining it with one of the other solutions, as on the eight-plus-minute “Drive All Night.” But there is also another album lurking within Bruce Springsteen – The River, and it is a more lighthearted pop/rock collection of short, sometimes humorous songs like “Sherry Darling” and “I’m a Rocker.” …. ‘


Bruce Springsteen – The River Tracklist

01) 00:00 The Ties That Bind
02) 03:35 Sherry Darling
03) 07:38 Jackson Cage
04) 10:42 Two Hearts
05) 13:28 Independence Day
06) 18:19 Hungry Heart
07) 21:38 Out in the Street
08) 25:56 Crush on You
09) 29:07 You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
10) 31:45 I Wanna Marry You
11) 35:16 The River
CD 02:
01) 40:18 Point Blank
02) 46:23 Cadillac Ranch
03) 49:27 I’m a Rocker
04) 53:04 Fade Away
05) 57:50 Stolen Car
06) 01:01:44 Ramrod
07) 01:05:50 The Price You Pay
08) 01:11:20 Drive All Night
09) 01:19:54 Wreck on the Highway


Bruce Springsteen – lead vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano on “Drive All Night”

The E Street Band

  • Roy Bittan – piano, organ on “I’m a Rocker” and “Drive All Night”, background vocals
  • Clarence Clemons – saxophone, percussion, background vocals
  • Danny Federici – organ, glockenspiel
  • Garry Tallent – bass
  • Steven Van Zandt – acoustic guitar, guitar, lead guitar on “Crush on You”, harmony vocals, background vocals
  • Max Weinberg – drums
  • Flo & Eddie – on “Hungry Heart”
  • Howard Kaylan – harmony vocals
  • Mark Volman – harmony vocals

Bruce Springsteen - The River

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.