Caravan – In The Land of Grey and Pink

Published on 2 May 2021 by

      Lindsay Planer: ‘Caravan – In The Land of Grey and Pink is considered by many to be a pinnacle release from Caravan. The album contains an undeniable and decidedly European sense of humor and charm. In addition, this would mark the end of the band’s premiere lineup. Co-founder David Sinclair would leave Caravan to form Matching Mole with Soft Machine drummer and vocalist Robert Wyatt in August of 1971. As a group effort, In the Land of Grey and Pink displays all the ethereal brilliance Caravan created on their previous pair of 12″ outings. Their blending of jazz and folk instrumentation and improvisational styles hints at Traffic and Family, as displayed on “Winter Wine,” as well as the organ and sax driven instrumental introduction to “Nine Feet Underground.” These contrast the decidedly aggressive sounds concurrent with albums from King Crimson or Soft Machine. In fact, beginning with the album’s title, there seems to be pastoral qualities and motifs throughout. Another reason enthusiasts rank this album among their favorites is the group dynamic which has rarely sounded more singular or cohesive.’


Caravan – In The Land of Grey and Pink Tracklist

  1. 0:00 Golf Girl
  2. 4:59 Winter Wine
  3. 12:36 Love to Love You
  4. 15:47 In the Land of Grey & Pink
  5. 20:40 Nine Feet Underground
  6. 43:23 I Don’t Know its Name
  7. 49:33 Aristocracy
  8. 53:20 It’s Likely To Have A Name Next Week
  9. 1:01:04 Group Girl
  10. 1:06:08 Dissassociation / 100% Proof


Pye Hastings – guitars and vocals
Dave Sinclair – Hammond organ, piano and Mellotron
Richard Sinclair – bass, acoustic guitar and vocals
Richard Coughlan – drums

Caravan – In The Land Of Grey And Pink (CD) - Discogs

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.