Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head

Published on 27 February 2019 by

      MacKenzie Wilson: After touring in support of their debut album, Parachutes, Coldplay was personally and professionally exhausted. Frontman Chris Martin insisted he was dry; by the time they closed their European tour in summer 2001, he hadn’t written a song in months. The U.K. music press immediately pounced on the idea of Coldplay calling it quits, but somewhere lurked the beauty of “In My Place.” The spirit and soul of this ballad allowed Coldplay to pull it together to make a second album. What came from such anguish and inquisition was Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head. Coldplay has surely let it all go on this record. Acoustics are drowned out by Jon Buckland’s riveting guitar work, and vocally, Martin has sharpened his falsetto, refining his haunting delivery. It’s a strong album; you can feel, hear, and touch the blood, sweat, and tears behind each song, and that’s exactly what Coldplay was going for. Co-producer Ken Nelson and mixer Mark Pythain (the team behind the blissful beauty of Parachutes) allowed Coldplay to make an album that’s initially inaccessible, but that’s what makes it intriguing. Lush melodies and a heartbreak behind the songs are there, but also a newfound confidence. …..- A Rush Of Blood To The Head might not instantly grab listeners, but it’s not tailored that way. It pushes you to look beyond dreamy vocals for a musical inner core. Regardless of the band still being in their mid-twenties, they’ve made an amazing record, and if it ends up being their last, A Rush of Blood to the Head didn’t sugarcoat anything. It’s a bittersweet design no matter what. ‘


Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head Tracklist

  1.  Politik 5:19
  2.  In My Place 3:46
  3.  God Put a Smile Upon Your Face 4:57
  4.  The Scientist 5:08
  5.  Clocks 5:07
  6.  Daylight 5:27
  7.  Green Eyes 3:43
  8.  Warning Sign 5:31
  9.  A Whisper 3:58
  10.  A Rush of Blood to the Head 5:51
  11.  Amsterdam 5:19

Coldplay - A Rush Of Blood To The Head

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.