Colin Blunstone – Journey

Published on 12 April 2019 by

      Robin Platts: ‘Colin Blunstone’s third solo outing is not as consistent as his first two, but its best moments are easily on par with the best tracks on One Year and Ennismore. This time out, production was handled solely by ex-Zombie Chris White, who was also co-producing and writing for the group Argent at the time. Among the highlights are “Keep the Curtains Closed Today” and “Beginning,” both of which incorporate sublime vocal arrangements by the King’s Singers. Elsewhere, on tracks like “This Is Your Captain Calling,” there’s an apparent attempt to conform to the contemporary pop sounds of the (mid-’70s) era. However, Blunstone’s voice is better suited to the styles employed throughout his first two LPs, in particular the melancholy string backings of One Year. As a result, Journey is somewhat of a mixed bag. Colin’s chart success has tended to come when he’s worked in a style better suited to his voice (e.g. “Say You Don’t Mind”), and Journey failed to spawn a hit single. Still, for Blunstone aficionados, the best tracks on Journey make it a worthwhile effort.’


Colin Blunstone – Journey Tracklist

  1. Wonderful 5:00
  2. Beginning 1:23
  3. Keep The Curtains Closed Today 3:15
  4. Weak For You 5:25
  5. Beware 3:30
  6. Smooth Operation 4:00
  7. This Is Your Captain Calling 4:20
  8. Something Happens When You Touch Me 3:55
  9. Setting Yourself Up 3:22
  10. Brother Lover 3:44
  11. Shadow Of A Doubt 3:41

Colin Blunstone - Journey

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.