Deep Purple – In Rock

Published on 21 February 2019 by

      Eduardo Rivadavia: ‘After satisfying all of their classical music kinks with keyboard player Jon Lord’s overblown Concerto for Group and Orchestra, Deep Purple’s soon to be classic Mark II version made its proper debut and established the sonic blueprint that would immortalize this lineup of the band on 1970’s awesome Deep Purple In Rock. The cacophony of sound  introducing opener “Speed King” made it immediately obvious that the band was no longer fooling around, but the slightly less intense “Bloodsucker” did afford stunned listeners a chance to catch their breaths before the band launched into the album’s epic, ten-minute tour de force, “Child in Time.” In what still stands as arguably his single greatest performance, singer Ian Gillan led his bandmates on a series of hypnotizing crescendos, from the song’s gentle beginning through to its ear-shattering climax and then back again for an even more intense encore that brought the original vinyl album’s seismic first side to a close. Side two opened with the searing power chords of “Flight of the Rat” Next, “Into the Fire” and “Living Wreck” proved more concise but equally appealing, and though closer “Hard Lovin’ Man” finally saw the new-look Deep Purple waffling on a bit too long before descending into feedback, the die was cast for one of heavy metal’s defining albums.’

Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Jon Lord – keyboards, organ
Ian Paice – drums, percussion
Ian Gillan – lead vocals
Roger Glover – bass


Deep Purple In Rock Tracklist

  1. Speed King – 00:04
  2. Bloodsucker – 05:58
  3. Child in Time – 10:10
  4. Flight of the Rat – 20:26
  5. Into the Fire – 28:20
  6. Living Wreck – 31:50
  7. Hard Lovin’ Man – 36:20

Deep Purple In Rock

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.