Gram Parsons – Grievous Angels

Published on 24 August 2019 by

      Mark Deming: ‘Gram Parsons fondness for drugs and high living are said to have been catching up with him while he was recording Grievous Angel, and sadly he wouldn’t live long enough to see it reach record stores, dying from a drug overdose in the fall of 1973. Grievous Angels is a less ambitious and unified set than his solo debut, but that’s to say that G.P. was a great album while Grievous Angel was instead a very, very good one. Much of the same band that played on his solo debut were brought back for this set, and they perform with the same effortless grace and authority (especially guitarist James Burton and fiddler Byron Berline). If Parsons was slowing down a bit as a songwriter, he still had plenty of gems on hand from more productive days, such as “Brass Buttons” and “Hickory Wind (which wasn’t really recorded live in Northern Quebec; that’s just Gram and the band ripping it up live in the studio, with a handful of friends whooping it up to create honky-tonk atmosphere). He also proved to be a shrewd judge of other folks material as always; Tom T. Hall’s “I Can’t Dance” is a strong barroom rocker, and everyone seems to be having a great time on The Louvin Brothers’s “Cash on the Barrelhead.” As a vocal duo, Parsons and Emmylou Harris only improved on this set, turning in a version of “Love Hurts” so quietly impassioned and delicately beautiful that it’s enough to make you forget Roy Orbison ever recorded it. And while he didn’t plan on it, Parsons could hardly have picked a better closing gesture than “In My Hour of Darkness.” Grievous Angel may not have been the finest work of his career, but one would be hard pressed to name an artist who made an album this strong only a few weeks before their death — or at any time of their life, for that matter. ‘


Gram Parsons – Grievous Angels Tracklist

  1. Return Of The Grievous Angels (0:00)
  2. Hearts On Fire (4:23)
  3. I Can’t Dance (8:13)
  4. Brass Buttons (10:36)
  5. $1000 Wedding (14:01)
  6. Cash On The Barrelhead (19:04)
  7. Hickory Wind (21:27)
  8. Love Hurts (25:31)
  9. Ooh Las Vegas (29:12)
  10. In My Hour Of Darkness (32:44)


  1. Brand New Heartache (36:28)
  2. The Angels Rejoiced In Heaven Last Night (38:58)
  3. Sleepless Nights (42:32)


Résultat de recherche d'images pour "Gram Parsons - Grievous Angels"

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.