Gregory Alan Isakov – That Sea, the Gambler

Published on 18 February 2019 by

      Singer/songwriter Gregory Alan Isakov was born in Johannesburg, South Africa and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he began touring with a band at the age of 16 before eventually relocating to Colorado to hone his chops as a solo artist. Influenced by the rural blue-collar lyricism of artists like Bruce Springsteen, Kelly Joe Phelps, and Leonard Cohen, it wasn’t long before Isakov’s own blend of dusty folk and moody Americana began turning heads. He released his debut album, Rust Colored Stones, in 2003, followed by Songs for October (2005), That Sea, the Gambler (2007), and The Empty Northern Hemisphere (2009), the latter of which spawned the single “If I Go, I’m Goin,” which appeared in the fourth season of the popular Showtime series Californication. Arriving in 2013, The Weatherman included the singles “Time Will Tell” and “Suitcase Full of Sparks,” the latter of which was featured on an episode of the popular NBC crime thriller The Blacklist, and in 2016 he released the ambitious Gregory Alan Isakov with the Colorado Symphony, which saw him reworking material from past albums with a full orchestra. ~ James Christopher Monger


Gregory Alan Isakov – That Sea, the Gambler Tracklist

  1. 0:00 All there is
  2. 2:22 The Stable song
  3. 8:21 Black & Blue
  4. 12:19 San Francisco
  5. 18:01 Salt & the Sea
  6. 21:30 John Brown’s body
  7. 26:52 3 A.M.
  8. 31:39 That Sea, the Gambler
  9. 36:33 Raising Cain
  10. 41:11 Unwritable girl
  11. 44:06 The Moon was red and dangerous


Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.