Jeff Beck – Beck-Ola

Published on 25 February 2019 by

      Jerry McCulley: ‘ While Truth, the first Jeff Beck Group album, has often been touted as the blueprint for Led Zeppelin and much of the bombastic blues rock that followed, the group’s sophomore outing arguably comes closer to fitting that bill. Which is to say it’s decidedly heavier, if less ambitious and more narrowly focused, than its heralded predecessor. Beck and company (a young Rod Stewart in peak form, Ron Wood on bass, Tony Newman on drums, and here augmented by keyboardist Nicky Hopkins) don’t get much more adventuresome here than reworking Elvis Presley chestnuts “All Shook Up” and “Jailhouse Rock” with almost comic lugubriousness, especially in the drunken, sinewy tones the ax prodigy coaxes from his instrument. That tightening of dynamics thus transforms the lovely Hopkins instrumental showcase “Girl from Mill Valley” into a placid island in a sea of greasy grooves. Truth gave us Beck’s tasteful, if quirky heart, Beck-Ola is a jolt of his prodigious musical libido–and damned if less almost isn’t more.’


Jeff Beck – Beck-Ola Tracklist

  1. All Shook Up
  2. Spanish Boots
  3. Girl from Mill Valley
  4. Jailhouse Rock
  5. Plynth (Water Down the Drain)
  6. The Hangman’s Knee
  7. Rice Pudding


Jeff Beck — guitars
Rod Stewart — vocals
Nicky Hopkins — piano and organ
Ronnie Wood — bass
Tony Newman — drums

Jeff Beck - Beck-Ola

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.