Keane – Strangeland

Published on 31 May 2019 by

      Keane – Strangeland is the fourth studio album by English alternative rock band Keane, released in May 2012 through Island Records. It is their first full length album since Perfect Symmetry (2008), as well as the first to feature bassist Jesse Quin as an official member. Upon its release, the album received generally average reviews from music critics. The album became their fifth consecutive number-one album on the UK Albums Chart.

      James Christopher Monger: ‘Keane’s fourth outing trades in the officious electro-pop flourishes that peppered 2008’s Perfect Symmetry for a more familiar approach. Closer in tone to 2006’s Under the Iron Sea, some may find Keane – Strangeland’s reliable mix of Coldplay, Snow Patrol, and “Sit Down”-era James to be a bit rote, but when it comes to crafting relatively safe, achingly melodic, and terminally sincere adult alternative rock songs, there are few groups as prodigious as the East Sussex quartet. Bolstered by a pair of stadium-ready singles in “Disconnected” and “Silence by the Night,” both of which occur (in classic LP fashion) early on, Strangeland works best when it sticks to the formula, providing a hook, a line, and a sinker before landing the listener with the kind of colossal chorus that results in the frantic rolling up or down of car windows. More contemplative moments, like the lilting “Black Rain,” the lovely “Neon River,” and the appropriately epic closer “Sea Fog” work just as well, dialing back the cymbal swells in favor of a more measured level of melodrama. Strangeland never really lives up to its mysterious title, as there’s nothing on it that doesn’t feel willfully nostalgic, but like any good plate of comfort food it satisfies in a way that more adventurous meals never truly can. ‘


Keane – Strangeland Tracklist

  1.  “You Are Young” 00:01
  2.  “Silenced by the Night” 03:35
  3.  “Disconnected” 06:52
  4.  “Watch How You Go” 10:50
  5.  “Sovereign Light Café” 14:33
  6.  “On the Road” 18:09
  7.  “The Starting Line” 22:06
  8.  “Black Rain” 26:18
  9.  “Neon River” 30:06
  10.  “Day Will Come” 34:58
  11.  “In Your Own Time” 38:09
  12.  “Sea Fog” 41:53

Keane - Strangeland

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.