Lou Reed – Transformer

Published on 24 February 2019 by

      Lou Reed – Transformer is the second studio album by American rock musician Lou Reed, released in November 1972. ‘Mark Deming’  David Bowie has never been shy about acknowledging his influences, and since the boho decadence and sexual ambiguity of the Velvet Underground’s music had a major impact on Bowie’s work, it was only fitting that as Ziggy Stardust mania was reaching its peak, Bowie would offer Lou Reed some much needed help with his career, which was stuck in neutral after his first solo album came and went. Musically, Reed’s work didn’t have too much in common with the sonic bombast of the glam scene, but at least it was a place where his eccentricities could find a comfortable home, and on Transformer Bowie and his right-hand man, Mick Ronson, crafted a new sound for Reed that was better fitting (and more commercially astute) than the ambivalent tone of his first solo album. … “Perfect Day,” “Walk on the Wild Side,” and “New York Telephone Conversation” proved he could still write about the demimonde with both perception and respect. The sound and style of Lou Reed – Transformer would in many ways define Reed’s career in the 1970s, and while it led him into a style that proved to be a dead end, you can’t deny that Bowie and Ronson gave their hero a new lease on life — and a solid album in the bargain. 


Lou Reed – Transformer Tracklist

  1. Vicious — 00:00
  2. Andy’s Chest” –02:55
  3. Perfect Day” –06:17 
  4. Hangin’ ‘Round” — 10:04 
  5. Walk on the Wild Side” –13:40
  6. Make Up” –17:55
  7. Satellite of Love –20:56 
  8. Wagon Wheel — 24:39 
  9. New York Telephone Conversation –27:59 
  10. I’m So Free –29:33 
  11. Goodnight Ladies — 32:42

Lou Reed - Transformer

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.