Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear

Published on 2 March 2019 by

      Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear is the debut album by the neo-progressive rock band Marillion, released in 1983. It reached number seven on the UK album chart and stayed on the chart for 31 weeks, the second longest chart residency of a Marillion album. The single released before the album was “Market Square Heroes”, with the double B-sides “Three Boats Down from the Candy” and the 17-minute epic “Grendel”. “He Knows You Know” and “Garden Party” were also released as singles, and became Top 40 hits in the UK.AMG Review: At the time, Marillion’s remarkable, full-fledged 1983 debut Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear was considered an odd bird: replete with Peter Gabriel face paint and lengthy, technical compositions, Marillion ushered in a new generation of prog rock that bound them forever to the heroics of early day Genesis. Intricate, complex, and theatrical almost to a fault, Script for a Jester’s Tear remains the band’s best and sets the bar for their later work. Filled with extraordinary songs that remained staples in the band’s live gigs, the album begins with the poignant title track, on which Fish leads his band of merry men on a brokenhearted tour de force that culminates with the singer decrying that “…the game is over.” “He Knows You Know,,” a song sprinkled with drug paranoia and guilt; as the song veers to its chorus, Fish announces, “Fast feed, crystal fever, swarming through a fractured mind.” If “The Web” hints at a grain of commercialism, “Garden Party” is a joyous anthem that showcases Marillion at the peak of its powers. Bogged down by some hilariously over-the-top British poetry, “Chelsea Monday” may be one of the album’s lesser moments (if there are any), but the magical “Forgotten Sons” concludes the opus magnificently


Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear Tracklist

  1. 00:00 “Script for a Jester’s Tear”
  2. 08:38 “He Knows You Know”
  3. 14:01 “The Web”
  4. 22:48 “Garden Party”
  5. 30:03 “Chelsea Monday”
  6. 38:19 “Forgotten Sons”


  • Fish – vocals
  • Steve Rothery – guitars
  • Mark Kelly – keyboards
  • Pete Trewavas – bass
  • Mick Pointer – drums


Marillion - Script for a Jester's Tear

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.