Norah Jones – Come Away with Me

Published on 21 September 2019 by

      David R. Adler: ‘ Norah Jones’ debut on Blue Note “Norah Jones – Come Away with Me” is a mellow, acoustic pop affair with soul and country overtones, immaculately produced by the great Arif Mardin. (It’s pretty much an open secret that the 22-year-old vocalist and pianist is the daughter of Ravi Shankar.) Jones is not quite a jazz singer, but she is joined by some highly regarded jazz talent: guitarists Adam Levy, Adam Rogers, Tony Scherr, Bill Frisell, and Kevin Breit; drummers Brian Blade, Dan Rieser, and Kenny Wollesen; organist Sam Yahel; accordionist Rob Burger; and violinist Jenny Scheinman. Her regular guitarist and bassist, Jesse Harris and Lee Alexander, respectively, play on every track and also serve as the chief songwriters. Both have a gift for melody, simple yet elegant progressions, and evocative lyrics. (Harris made an intriguing guest appearance on Seamus Blake’s Stranger Things Have Happened.) Jones, for her part, wrote the title track and the pretty but slightly restless “Nightingale.” She also includes convincing readings of Hank Williams’ “Cold Cold Heart,” J.D. Loudermilk’s “Turn Me On,” and Hoagy Carmichael’s “The Nearness of You.” There’s a touch of Rickie Lee Jones in Jones’ voice, a touch of Bonnie Raitt in the arrangements; her youth and her piano skills could lead one to call her an Alicia Keys for grown-ups. While the mood of this record stagnates after a few songs, it does give a strong indication of Jones’ alluring talents.’


Norah Jones – Come Away with Me Tracklist

  1. 00:15 Don’t Know Why
  2. 03:20 Seven Years
  3. 05:45 Cold, Cold Heart
  4. 09:23 Feelin’ The Same Way
  5. 12:22 Come Away With Me
  6. 15:41 Shoot The Moon
  7. 19:38 Turn Me On
  8. 22:44 Lonestar
  9. 25:51 I’ve Got To See You Again
  10. 30:04 Painter Song
  11. 32:47 One Flight Down
  12. 35:52 Nightingale
  13. 40:04 The Long Day Is Over
  14. 42:49 The Nearness Of You

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "Norah Jones - Come Away with Me"

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.